Chosen Ones – Paper Delivery Girl

I awoke a bit before 5AM with Natalie Merchant’s “Wonder” in my head. I’m a huge fan of all types of music and have a fondness towards singer/songwriters that can break it down with just a strong vocal and lead guitar. That kind of raw talent is so amazing and speaks to my soul. Well, to be honest, I never much cared for Natalie Merchant and I was always kind of annoyed by this song so the fact that I awoke with it in my head was extremely odd. I googled the lyrics and pasted them here.  Let’s check it out together…

Doctors have come from distant cities
Just to see me
Stand over my bed
Disbelieving what they’re seeing

They say I must be one of the wonders
Of god’s own creation
And as far as they can see they can offer
No explanation

Newspapers ask intimate questions
Want confessions
They reach into my head
To steal the glory of my story

They say I must be one of the wonders
Of god’s own creation
And as far as they can see they can offer
No explanation

O, I believe
Fate smiled and destiny
Laughed as she came to my cradle
Know this child will be able
Laughed as my body she lifted
Know this child will be gifted
With love, with patience and with faith
She’ll make her way

People see me
I’m a challenge to your balance
I’m over your heads
How I confound you and astound you
To know I must be one of the wonders
Of god’s own creation
And as far as you can see you can offer me
No explanation

O, I believe
Fate smiled and destiny
Laughed as she came to my cradle
Know this child will be able
Laughed as she came to my mother
Know this child will not suffer
Laughed as my body she lifted
Know this child will be gifted
With love, with patience and with faith
She’ll make her way

 

Interesting. Like I said, I never liked this song.  As a matter of fact, if I had awoken to this on the radio, I probably would’ve changed the station and opted for something else. I am humbled by His reminders that He’s with me. He knows how stubborn I can be and not only puts up with it but he continues to pass me little notes to show that He gets me and that He’s not going anywhere… it’s me that decides how close He can be. 

We can define our relationship with Him. Mine was one of fear until September.  Now, as I said in a previous post, I want to exchange a BFF charm with Him. So many ways that He makes me smile through out a day, or answers my questions not just once, but multiple times because I can be such a pain. Kind of high maintenance with Him right now but I feel He’s okay with that.

Image

The first thing I aspire to do each morning is to read a daily affirmation from Sarah Young’s book, Jesus Calling. My incredible therapist recommended this book after I shared with her my Spiritual Awakening. 

Note: I feel the need to capitalize that whenever I type it.  I’m not an English major and I’m sure that this blog is full of grammatical errors. Red pens should stay far from this blog because I want to have a conversation with you. I want to feel like we are having a cup of coffee, or in my case 5 cups of coffee… before noon… okay sometimes it’s more. I enjoy coffee.  Caribou is right, Life is good, stay awake for it. 

Okay, A.D.D. Something shiny.  Or…. in my case… it probably involves glitter.  I love glitter. 

Image

Wow.  Okay… so back to Spiritual Awakening.  I feel the need to capitalize it because I think it deserves to be capitalized. It is profound and like our proper names, unique to us. Rebirth and branded with a new name. It’s as if I died and came back with a second chance to give this a real go of things. Do something that matters. Empowered yet so humbled. Chosen. I truly feel that way.  He has some plans for me. I went from being ready to take my own life to feeling like God has some plans for me.  It with complete lack of ego when I say that I believe He has a message to get out there and I’ll be the paper delivery girl that can deliver it with a smile and gratitude that I can bring you a message to start your day. So that’s that. Paper Delivery Girl.  I like it.  Suits me better than corporate banker. Let’s Go!

Take a moment to be alone with Him and ask how you can serve today. Ask Him what role He needs you to play today.

God Bless.

One thought on “Chosen Ones – Paper Delivery Girl

  1. Pingback: Natalie Merchant | The Silverman School™

Leave a Reply

