Return of the Owl

For years, I’ve searched the Internet for information on BiPolar.  Studies, documentaries, Vlogs, Blogs, you name it.  There isn’t as much information out there as one would imagine.  I mean, when nearly 3% of the population have a diagnosis of Bipolar, you’d think there would be YouTube videos with tens of thousands of hits.  Unfortunately, I see the same results pop up each time I search.  There’s some great content and in my opinion, also some horrible depictions of what it’s truly like to live with this disorder.

During the months that I was diagnosed, my illness was the most extreme.  I came here to WordPress and shared some of the darkest hours of my entire life.  Looking back on it, I am glad I documented my experience here for many reasons.  It’s extremely personal but I know that for me, when I search for bipolar content and find others that feel the way I do, it’s mildly comforting.  Any comfort I can find during the difficult days are welcomed. It saddens me to know how much we suffer, but it’s nice to know that we are not alone – on the good days and the more difficult ones.

I’ve been absent from my blog for quite some time.  When I had initially created OwlofKnowledge, it was written anonymously.  Writing as a ghost, I found it easier to share every morsel of sadness or mania I was going through at the time.  I didn’t feel the need to censor myself.  I wrote about the stigma of mental illness and soon found that I was fighting to remove it while I was hiding and afraid to show myself.  That just wasn’t going to work for me.  I will not speak out of both sides of my mouth.  After I came out, it caused some issues for me and I determined it wasn’t a good idea to use this platform as a diary.  Fast forward to today.  There’s a lot that has gone on in that gap of time since I’ve been away from OwlofKnowledge.  I have determined that the cause is much more important than worrying about what anyone thinks of me…so for better or for worse, I’m back!

I will fill in some of the blanks in regard to what has transpired since my last entries and continue to share current info.  I’ll still dig for solid content from others out there and share it here on OwlofKnowledge.  I’m not sure how often I’ll be posting or if the content will be only about bipolar, but I know that I’m going to be more present than last year and I hope you’ll join me.  I’d love to hear from you.

20161203_152711I started a lifestyle blog that I’ll also be contributing to.  It’s more upbeat – or at least that is what I’m aiming for it to be. If you’re interested in hearing about more than just my bipolar rants, click here>Womanator

Thanks for sticking around.  Owl of Knowledge  –  OUT.

 

Leave a comment